Fairwater Cup 2017 – St George’s Hill GC

The annual meeting once again at St George’s Hill Golf Club took place on Sunday 14 May for our usual decent lunch and afternoon golf playing for the Fairwater Cup 18 holes stableford (holder Gary Hector 2016).  In total we had nine for lunch and twelve for golf in the afternoon.  This year we welcomed new attendees Simon Hobbs, Mark Jenkins and Neil Robertson.  It was a great day as usual, the weather was excellent and the golf a mixed bag!

Congratulations to the winner of the cup Gary Hector with a score of 35 points who retains the title after winning the cup last year but also gives him another year to get the cup engraved for 2016 and 2017 which he omitted to do!

Second place goes to Greg Whalley with  32 points and third place to Simon Hobbs with 29 points (after count back).  Once again it was a great effort to those who travelled from Taunton and beyond.

Those attended: G Hector, P Stickler, S Hobbs, T Davidge, R Willacy, G Whalley, N Robertson, D Morgan, O Hyland,  M Jenkins, M Turner, R Norris.

Halford Hewitt – 2017

What another fantastic week weather wise!

Some of us turned up for the Tuesday practice at Deal and rest followed Wednesday.   No rounds these days are easy and our opening match was against Dulwich.  Unfortunately, we had a late tee off time of 14:10, which meant a lot of hanging around itching to get going.  Alas we lost 5-0, which once again doesn’t tell the whole story.  Hector & Stickler lost on the 19th, Pyke & Greg W lost on the 17th and Blood & Jenks lost on the 18th.  So a good effort.

The Plate, down to six players, first round Friday morning against Glenalmond.  Taunton win 3-0.  Second round Saturday morning against Uppingham we lost 2-1.

Team this year for the main competition was unchanged:
R Willacy & I Westwater
G Hector & P Stickler
G Whalley & M Pyke
P Whalley & D Higginson
T Blood & M Jenkins

Plate team was:
R Willacy & I Westwater
G Whalley & P Whalley
G Hector & P Stickler

Thanks again to all.  Another fantastic week and already looking forward to 2018!